Enterprise Development Programmes in South Africa

Small Enterprise Development Agency (Seda)

 Seda  supports the growth of small business. People can go to Seda for help to start a business or, if they already have a business, to make it stronger and more profitable. Seda has a large network of branches across all district municipalities in the country. These branches offer:

  • information, advice and referrals
  • tender information and advice
  • import and export training
  • trade information
  • business assessments and business mentoring
  • technical support
  • market access
  • business linkages

In addition to helping individuals in business, Seda has a special focus on co-operative enterprises, where a group of entrepreneurs share the profits and responsibility of a business. Seda also supports and manages the biggest portfolio of Business Incubators in the country. Click here for a comprehensive directory of business incubators is South Africa.

For more information click here: www.seda.org.za

The Technology Stations Programme (TSP)

The Technology Stations Programme (TSP) was established to enable Universities of Technology (UoT) to provide technology development services to small and medium enterprises (SMEs). The Technology Stations (TSs) provide innovative Science, Engineering and Technology (SET) solutions for complex engineering challenges within the relevant industrial sectors aimed at supporting government’s socio-economic priorities. There are 18 Technology Stations (TS) based at 11 Higher Education Institutions in South Africa, managed by the Technology Stations Programme (TSP) Unit based in Pretoria at the Technology Innovation Agency (TIA) office.

The Technology Stations are well positioned to support industry, particularly SMEs and Higher Education Institutions. The Technology Stations’ activities offer an opportunity to bridge the gap between local suppliers and industry to take advantage of the recapitalization and expansion programmes by enhancing competitiveness of local suppliers through technology improvement. The TS provide technology transfer infrastructure that plays a critical role for transferring technologies from Higher Education Institutions to technology users.

  • Technology Station in Electronics (TSE) – Tshwane University of Technology
  • Metal Casting Technology Station (MCTS) – University of Johannesburg
  • Technology Station for Materials & Processing Technology (TSPMT) – Vaal University of Technology
  • Product Development Technology Station (PDTS) – Central University of Technology
  • eNTSA – Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • InnoVenton: Institute for Chemical Technology – Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • Technology Station in Clothing and Textile (TSCT) – Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Agrifood Technology Station (ATS) – Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Limpopo Agro-Food Technology Station (LATS)-University of Limpopo
  • Technology Station in Chemicals (TSC) – Tshwane University of Technology
  • Technology Station in Chemicals (TSC) – Mangosuthu University of Technology
  • Reinforced and Moulded Plastics Technology Station (RMPTS) – Durban University of Technology
  • Institutes of Advanced Tooling (IAT’s)
  • Institute for Advanced Tooling – Tshwane University of Technology (IAT-TUT)
  • Institute for Advanced Tooling – Walter Sisulu University (IAT-WSU)
  • Institute for Advanced Tooling – Stellenbosch University (IAT-SU)
  • Adaptronics Advanced Manufacturing Technology Laboratory (AMTL) – Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Process Energy and Environmental Technology Station (PEET) – University of Johannesburg
  • Technology Station in Rural Sustainable Development (TSRSD) – Upington in the Northern Cape, affiliated to VUT

For more information click: click here  or contact each university